Tags

, , ,

Having a wide network of friends who give realistic feedback is one of the last things you ever want. 

For example, say you’re some stranger I’m talking to online. if you’re one of the only person I talk to and I put a heavy relative weight on your opinion, you would basically be able to convince me that I’m stupid by simply saying so and providing some examples. But given that I have a fairly wide range of feeback, and the general concencus for most of my life has been that I am rather clever, it’s unlikely you would be able to exercise such a control over my self esteem in regard to my intelligence.

That’s why it’s told to people by therapists that having a social network is helpful for happiness…it widens onesconcensus  sample and biases it with people who have an agenda to bring up your self-worth. It’s brilliant really.

